Blizzard Introduces New Categories For 2020 OWL Awards

Blizzard Introduces New Categories For 2020 OWL Awards

The Overwatch League season 3’s regular season is near its end, and Blizzard Entertainment already identified the best teams and players of the year. The Overwatch League 2020 Awards is here with new events, categories, and other surprises.

Blizzard Entertainment updated the list of categories to be won on the event and included a new category called ‘Coach of the Year’. The list of nominees for each category isn’t out yet, but here’s the updated set of categories in 2020 and the previous winners from the inaugural and second seasons.

Regular Season MVP

Seong-Hyun “Jjonak” Bang, NYXL (2018)
Jay “Sinatraa” Won, San Francisco Shock (2019)

Grand Finals MVP

Jun-Young “Profit” Park, London Spitfire (2018)
Hyo-Bin “Choihyobin” Choi, San Francisco Shock (2019)

Dennis Hawelka Award

Pongphop “Mickie” Rattanasangchod, Dallas Fuel (2018)
Scott “Custa” Kennedy, Los Angeles Valiant (2019)

Role Stars

Damage (2019)

Corey “Corey” Nigra, Washington Justice
Jin-Hyeok “Dding” Yang, Shanghai Dragons
Hyo-Jong “Haksal” Kim, Vancouver Titans
Jay “Sinatraa” Won, San Francisco Shock

Tank (2019)

Hyo-Bin “Choihyobin” Choi, San Francisco Shock
Qiulin “Guxue” Xu, Hangzhou Spark
Dong-Gyu “Mano” Kim, New York Excelsior
Matthew “Super” DeLisi, San Francisco Shock

Support (2019)

Ho-Jin “IDK” Park, Hangzhou Spark
Young-Seo “Kariv” Bak, Los Angeles Valiant
Grant “Moth” Espe, San Francisco Shock
Ju-Seok “Twilight” Lee, Vancouver Titans

Rookie Of The Year

Hyo-Jong “Haksal” Kim, Vancouver Titans (2019)

Coach of the Year (New)

The award recognizes the coach with the greatest impact on their team, from the regular season to the grand finals.

The voting process for all categories, except the Regular Season MVP award, is not open to the public. Only general managers, head coaches, broadcast talent, and media partners can select the nominees and winners from the pool of eligible players and staff. The official winners of these special awards will be revealed by Blizzard one by one starting September 3.

For the Regular Season MVP, fans can vote their favorite players from the 10 finalists Blizzard Entertainment will reveal on August 7. Twitter is the voting platform for this category, and the deadline of voting is on August 27. The Regular Season MVP wins an exclusive trophy and a $100,000 cash reward.